Easy Fried Green Tomatoes

YUM!!!  My neighbour gave me so many tomatoes yesterday! He picked alot of green ones since we are now at a risk of frost at night. He told me how his wife made fried green tomatoes and how much he liked them.  I have always heard of fried green tomatoes but I have never made them. So, I was then off to find a recipe…

I LOVED this dish.  I am thankful for my gift of tomatoes, but where will I find green tomatoes in the winter??? I would love to be able to make this year-round, This recipe was super easy to make and so delicious!  I put a little bit of sweet thai chili sauce on my tomatoes and they were amazing!!

I took this recipe from Pinterest. The original recipe comes from eatgood4life.com http://www.eatgood4life.com/easy-fried-green-tomatoes/

cooked green

2lbs of green tomatoes, sliced 1/4 inch thick approx.
2 organic eggs, beaten
2-3 cups of panko crumbs, maybe a tad more
1 tsp salt
Pinch of pepper
Olive oil for frying

1. In a medium mixing bowl place the beaten eggs. In another bowl place the panko crumbs with the salt and pepper. This is your assembly line.
2. Pour enough oil in the frying pan to coat the bottom. Heat over medium heat. Using your assembly line – eggs and panko, dip the tomatoes in the egg mixture, and then into the panko. Shake off any excess.
3. Sprinkle a couple of panko crumbs into the oil, if it sizzles it’s ready. Fry the tomatoes until light golden brown on each side. About 2 minutes per side.
4. Transfer them onto a plate, previously covered with paper towels, and fry all the tomato slices. Served while still warm.

raw tomatoes

Leave a Reply

