Smoked Salmon and Cream Cheese Cucumber Bites

This is my new favorite appetizer!  Using a cucumber instead of a cracker is such a nice change up.  It’s light, not too filling and full of wonderful flavour. Plus, It’s super easy to make!

I used light cream cheese. I did not add the heavy cream into my recipe and I did not use toothpicks to hold the salmon on. I used 1 cucumber since I was making this for 2 people. I used the rest of the ingredients as needed. The recipe below is great for making these bites for a group of guests.

I found this gem of a recipe on Pinterest.  I made these bites last night for my friend who is gluten-free. Another reason to love this appetizer… it pleases lots of different diet choices.

Smoked Salmon and CCcukebites

2 English cucumbers, peeled and cut into 1″ rounds
1 pound smoked salmon, cut into bit sized pieces
8 ounce package cream cheese, softened
3 tablespoons fresh dill, chopped
1 tablespoon horseradish (more or less to taste)
1 tablespoon heavy cream, optional
Toothpicks or tiny party forks

1. Peel cucumbers and slice them into 1″ circles. Arrange on a platter as desired. Place in the refrigerator while preparing the cream cheese.
2. Place cream cheese, dill, horseradish, and cream in a large bowl. Beat until well combined (a handheld mixer really helps here)
3. Spread 1 teaspoon of cream cheese on top each cucumber slice (more or less to taste) then top each slice with a bite sized piece of smoked salmon. Insert a toothpick down the center to keep in place.
4. Serve at once, or keep in the refrigerator until needed.
**I recommend making these as close to the serving time as possible

Leave a Reply

