Stir-fried Broccoli and Red Peppers with Peanut Sauce

I found this recipe in The Cook’s Illustrated Cookbook.  I took it out from the library, but seriously 2 weeks just isn’t enough time for this gigantic book!  I am glad I found this recipe though, since I LOVED it!

Picture 2237

I made the sauce ahead of time and kept it in the fridge until I was ready to use it later at dinner.  The sauce calls for 1/8 teaspoon of red pepper flakes.  I used 1/4 teaspoon, but next time I would add 1/2 to 1 teaspoon as it needed more heat.

Picture 2236

I also used 2 red peppers. I did not weigh my broccoli to see if it measured 10 ounces. I used 2 stalks. The recipe states it serves 4 to 6, but my husband and I gobbled the whole thing up between the two of us!

Picture 2233

I served my stir fry with basmati rice and marinated teriyaki chicken.

SAUCE
3/4 cup coconut milk
1/4 cup water
3 tablespoons smooth peanut butter
3 tablespoons fish sauce
1 teaspoon grated lime zest plus 1 tablespoon juice
1 tablespoon light brown sugar
1/8 teaspoon red pepper flakes

VEGETABLES
1 tablespoon plus 1 teaspoon vegetable oil
1 large red bell pepper, stemmed, seeded, and cut into 1/2-inch strips
10 ounces broccoli florets, cut into 1-inch pieces
2 garlic cloves, minced
1 teaspoon grated fresh ginger

1. FOR THE SAUCE: Whisk all ingredients together in small bowl until smooth.
2. FOR THE VEGETABLES: Heat 1 tablespoon oil in 12-inch nonstick skillet over high heat until shimmering, 2 to 3 minutes. Add red pepper and broccoli and cook, stirring every 10 to 15 seconds, until just barely tender, about 2 minutes. Clear center of skillet; add remaining 1 teaspoon oil, garlic, and ginger and cook, mashing mixture into pan, until fragrant, 15 to 20 seconds. Stir mixture into vegetables. Reduce heat to medium-low and stir in sauce mixture. Simmer to heat through and blend flavours, about 1 minute. Serve immediately.

Leave a Reply

