The Chewy Gluten Free

If I’m going to start baking gluten-free recipes…my first attempt HAS to be a chocolate chip cookie.

I found this recipe on the Food Network site, courtesy of Alton Brown.   I have never eaten a gluten-free cookie before, so I was happy with the reviews and it seemed like everyone who tried this recipe really liked it.

The ingredients in this cookie are very different then what I’m used to. What the heck is xanthan gum?  Needless to say, the ingredients were easy to find in my one-stop shop at Bulk Barn.  Luckily the flours were all 20% off the day I went, but the xanthan gum was not!  The little package I purchased was $14.00!  Is eating gluten-free going to be this expensive?

Picture 2199

I followed the recipe exactly to the weight measurements.  I even weighed out my cookies balls before baking them.  I did not add the salt since I used salted butter.

Picture 2201

When the cookies came out of the oven, I noticed they were very dark brown.  Usually when I see a cookie that dark I think the oven is too hot or the person cooked the cookie for way too long.  The brown rice flour is a little darker, so I know it is changing the look of the cookie.  I’m just so used to seeing the lighter color of my all-purpose white flour cookies.

I really like this cookie.  I like the crispier outside with it’s chewy inside.  I do need a few taste testers on this one since I can only compare these to wheat cookies.

Picture 2206

Try this one yourself..and make sure you let me know how you liked this cookie.  🙂

8 ounces unsalted butter
11 ounces brown rice flour, approximately 2 cups
1 1/4 ounces cornstarch, approximately 1/4 cup
1/2 ounce tapioca flour, approximately 2 tablespoons
1 teaspoon xanthan gum
1 teaspoon kosher salt
1 teaspoon baking soda
2 ounces sugar, approximately 1/4 cup
10 ounces light brown sugar, approximately 1 1/4 cups
1 whole egg
1 egg yolk
2 tablespoons whole milk
1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
12 ounces semisweet chocolate chips

1. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F.
2. Melt the butter in a heavy-bottom medium saucepan over low heat. Once melted, pour into the bowl of a stand mixer.
3. Add both of the sugars to the bowl with the butter and using the paddle attachment, cream together on medium speed for 1 minute. Add the whole egg, egg yolk, milk and vanilla extract and mix until well combined. Slowly incorporate the flour mixture until thoroughly combined. Add the chocolate chips and stir to combine.
4. Chill the dough in the refrigerator until firm, approximately 1 hour. Shape the dough into 2-ounce balls and place on parchment-lined baking sheets, 6 cookies per sheet. Bake for 14 minutes, rotating the pans after 7 minutes for even baking. Remove from the oven and cool cookies on the pans for 2 minutes. Move the cookies to a wire rack and cool completely. Store cookies in an airtight container.

Serves: 2 dozen cookies

Picture 2212

Leave a Reply

