Guacamole

It amazes me sometimes at how old my blog is, but yet the recipes I make almost weekly just never end up here.

This recipe is taken from “The New Moosewood Cookbook” by Mollie Katzen. I use 3 avacodos in my recipe since I take some out for my son, then I mix the rest with diced tomatoes which he doesn’t like.

I add 1/2 tsp of cumin and 1/2 tsp of chili powder.  I use either lemon or lime, whatever I have on-hand.

Picture 2189

Basic Guacamole:
2 Tbs fresh lemon or lime juice
2 medium-sized ripe avocados
1 to 2 medium cloves garlic, minced
1/2 tsp salt (possibly more, to taste)

Optional Augmentations:
1/2 tsp cumin (possibly more, to taste)
1/2 tsp chili powder
Black pepper and cayenne, to taste
Tiny amounts of: minced green or red pepper peeled, seeded, and finely minced cucumber or diced ripe tomatoes
2 to 3 Tbs mayonnaise

1. Place the lemon or lime juice in a medium-sized shallow bowl.
2. Add the avocado (you can just cut it open and spoon it out of it’s skin), and mash with a fork to whatever consistency you like.
3. Stir in remaining ingredients. Cover tightly and chill. NOTE: To help the guacamole retain it’s color, add the avocado pits. Remove them just before serving.

Picture 2196

Leave a Reply

