Peanut Butter Capers

I made the dough this morning and let the kids shape their own cookies.  They had lots of fun watching their creations grow in the oven.  This recipe is taken from Better Homes and Gardens “Cookies For Kids”. I used 1 cup butter instead of the shortening. I also omitted the salt as I used salted butter. Since I made the dough, and not the kids, I just used my electric mixer. 


1 cup shortening 
1 cup peanut butter
1 cup sugar
1 cup packed brown sugar
2 eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla
2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt

1.  Turn oven to 350F.  In a large mixing bowl mix shortening and peanut butter with a wooden spoon.  Add sugar and brown sugar.  Stir till mixed.
2.  Add eggs and vanilla.  Stir till mixed.
3.  In a medium mixing bowl combine flour, baking soda, and salt.  Stir into peanut butter mixture till well mixed.  Use your hands to mix if you need to.
4.  Bake in the 350F oven for 10 to 12 minutes or till light brown on the edges.  Let cool on cookie sheets 1 minute.  With a pancake turner lift the cookies onto a cooling rack to finish cooling.  Makes 36 large cookies. 


1 thought on “Peanut Butter Capers

Leave a comment